Sit. Good dog!

This was a busy weekend for Scout. For starters, she very generously slept through B’s football game on Saturday, which was an amazing feat considering he was yelling and screaming for a solid 3.5 hours, rooting his USC Gamecock’s to victory over #1-ranked Alabama. We were thoroughly impressed with her. But what really got me was on Sunday when, in a moment of tentative hopefulness, I decided to see if Scout was in the mood to learn something.

Now, let me preface this with a bit of honesty. I had read in a number of puppy books that said the prime age to begin teaching/training a dog is at 7 weeks. Their little brains are primed and ready, according to the experts, and you need to take advantage of their sponge-like capabilities.  Call me too eager, but the moment Scout hit 7 weeks I was the one primed for training. Scout seemed like she could care less. In fact, I spent most of the week completely stressed out and frustrated that I couldn’t get her to sit still for longer than 2.5 nanoseconds in order to even say the word Sit–must less actually convey a lesson.

So in a moment of oh-what-the-heck freedom, I decided on Sunday that Scout looked rather calm and that we should give it a shot. Lo and behold, I taught our girl to sit! I was so proud of her the first time she did it without my pressing (gently) on her bottom that I almost burst into tears. I started praising her so much that I was sure the lesson would be lost, but she’s continued to follow it since then, and even did it a few times this morning. Hooray! So maybe my father-in-law was right when he said teaching a dog to sit was easy. I just needed to pick the best time.  And apparently for Scout, the best time to learn a lesson is after your family’s football team gets a seriously big win.

2 responses to “Sit. Good dog!

  1. Mom October 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

    That Was great!

    And she is so cute!

  2. Pingback: Scout Turns One « And Puppy Makes Four

Leave a Reply

