Breaking the Habit

It occurred to me two nights ago, as I lay awake at 3:30 a.m., that Scout has fallen into an inconvenient routine. She is perfectly capable of sleeping through the night, as she has demonstrated many times. Yet for the last week or so, she has consistently woken up at 3:30 a.m. and again at 5:30 a.m., asking to go out. Like the dutiful mother, I rise, wrap myself in my bathrobe (though a heavy coat would be more appropriate, I can’t manage it in my sleepy state), and take her out. I try my best to make it a quick trip. Sometimes Scout has other ideas.

Scout’s crate is directly next to my side of the bed. I even use the top of it as my nightstand, since for space reasons I had to give up the bedside table for the crate. I hear her at night when she wakes and entertains herself. It reminds me of a baby, playing in its crib. She chews on the crate bars, and rolls around, perfectly content until the urge to pee hits.

Behind this sugar-sweet veneer, I am uber smart and can have you trained in a jiffy.

Still, for both her well being and definitely for mine, we need to start sleeping through the night on a regular basis. So when she woke up at 3:30 a.m. two nights ago and gave me a little whine, I kept my eyes closed and didn’t move. “Can she tell that I’m awake?” I wondered. The more I read about dogs the more in awe of their sense I become. Who knows what Scout can sense from her place beside the bed. Blessedly, she settled down, and last night, though she was awake at 3:30, she did not ask to go out.

Next up, breaking the 5:30 habit. Then we’ll be making real headway. It’s amazing how well she has trained me, without my even realizing it.

Leave a Reply

