A Day Before Surgery

Sometimes it can be hard to distinguish Scout’s day-to-day growth. When she was very young, 6 to 10 or so weeks old, every day was obvious new growth. Then, somewhere around 3 months, her growth started to blend together for me. This is what makes photos so important. Like this one, taken just a bit over a month ago:

Already Scout looks so much bigger than this, and darker, too. Her fur has become a beautiful red that I don’t think our camera does justice to. Scout’s mother is the darkest red of any Lab I’ve seen, and Scout has settled into a nice balance between her mother and her father:

Mama Dog

Dad Dog

I see each of Scout’s parents in her. When we have a treat, Scout will sit at full attention, in a stance that looks just like her mother’s above pose. But she has her father’s forehead wrinkle, and the touches of light-colored fur where her shoulders and neck meet, like he does. I’m hoping that once the weather gets warm and we can introduce Scout to the pool, she’ll love it just as much as her mother loved water.

I suppose this post is just a general update sort of post, or maybe just rambling :) Scout goes in for her spay surgery tomorrow. I am trying to keep myself in check, so that I won’t make Scout nervous. I have to drop her off tomorrow before 8:30 am, and we will not pick her up until we get off work Thursday evening. The poor dear isn’t going to be allowed to eat her beloved breakfast. I can’t imagine how confused and frantic she’s going to be. Scout’s internal breakfast-and-dinner timer is a better stopwatch than my bedside alarm clock.

After we bring her home, B will be responsible for coming home during the day to let Scout out–he will have to carry her up and down the stairs to take her outside to use the bathroom. Scout is way to big for me now; the days of holding her in my arms are definitely over. I have heard that the procedure is pretty painful, so we’ve been sure to pay for Scout to have pain medication, which I hope will help to ease this as much as possible. We’ll give you an update when she’s back home.

 

4 responses to “A Day Before Surgery

  1. Lauren + Adam January 18, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Thinking of you, A & B. I know this is a stressful time on the mom and dad, too! She’ll do great…

  2. camille January 19, 2011 at 8:48 am

    hey!!! malone and I are stopping in to say hi! Scout, you are a pretty girl!!

  3. camille January 19, 2011 at 8:49 am

    (found ur blog thru JL!:)

  4. puppymakes4 January 19, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Hey Malone and Camille! Thanks for stopping by! JL has been a great resource for us with Scout.

Leave a Reply

