Bathtime Debacle, Take 2

Alright, this is seriously crazy.

You remember back when we gave Scout her first bath and she flipped out? And I swore off ever giving her another bath? Well, I caved. Let me explain.

Back when we brought Scout home from being spayed, we told the story of her leaving the vets office and promptly peeing in the car. This was an obvious accident. What we didn’t mention was how much Scout has smelled since that day. BAD. But we couldn’t bathe her until her staples were removed. So for the last 10 days, we’ve been dealing with a puppy that smelled like urine everywhere she went. Complete yuck, that’s for sure.

So you can see why I broke down last night and seriously had to bathe her myself. I couldn’t stand it any longer, and at 8 o’clock at night on a Sunday there wasn’t a groomer in town that was open. So B and I resolved that we could do this. I got in the tub with her while B praised her like mad and fed her apple treats like there was no tomorrow.

And to our surprise, she was a complete champ about it. She looks kinda depressed in this photo, but what she’s actually doing is chomping down an apple treat. She even let us towel her off and blow dry her without so much as a single whine.

So when we brought her back into the living room and turned our attention to Shaun White and the X Games (we got hooked on Shaun White during the Olympics and are such geeks about it now), we didn’t notice at first that Scout had crept back into the bathroom. When I looked over and didn’t see her with us any longer, I knew she’d gone into the bathroom, but I assumed it was to eat the tissues out of the trash can or unroll the toilet paper (all super-fun puppy activities).

But no. What did I find when I turned the corner but Scout, crouching down in the center of the bathroom…PEEING.

I wish my yell had been angrier. I wish it had even sounded halfway upset. Instead, what issues from me but a high-pitched yelp of a “NO!” By then Scout was done, leaving me a huge yellow puddle in the middle of the tile, and she just trotts back into the living room, no harm no foul.

Are you kidding me?

So the ol’ rule of thumb when trying to figure out why your dog urinates in places they aren’t supposed to is: a) They are expressing dominance; b) They are letting you know that they are upset with you; or c) They are being a turd.

I pick c. in Scout’s case. The one benefit of the whole ordeal, the one I repeated to myself while I scrubbed up her delightful little offering and soused the place with Natural’s Miracle, was that at the bare minimum, Scout now smells like peppermints. And that’s darn better than pee.

4 responses to “Bathtime Debacle, Take 2

  1. Mom January 31, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Well, I had to laugh!

  2. According to Gus January 31, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Oooohhh…she was not happy with you! When we were training Gus we found that if he peed once, he normally peed at least once or twice more. We quickly came to realize that he didn’t take well to scolding. If it makes you feel any better, it will get easier! Gus is an absolute champ and hasn’t had an accident (besides when he was sick) for over 4 years!

    P.S. We used to bathe Gus in our tub too…I’d strip down to my skivvies. We finally bought a detachable shower head attachment a couple years ago. It makes it so much easier…and faster!

    http://www.lowes.com/pd_308-1315-SM-651_4294857186_4294937087_?productId=1082741&Ns=p_product_price|0&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl_Showerheads_4294857186_4294937087_%3FNs%3Dp_product_price|0

    While I was searching for the one above…I found this one and would work awesome.

    http://www.lowes.com/pd_46979-82270-4500_4294857186_4294937087_?productId=3057729&Ns=p_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr|0||p_product_quantity_sold|1&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl_Showerheads_4294857186_4294937087_%3FNs%3Dp_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr|0||p_product_quantity_sold|1

  3. puppymakes4 February 1, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Wow, thank you for all the info, Gus! We had a showerhead like that in our old place, and boy would we like one in this one. Your suggestions are good ones. We’ll survive this period somehow!

  4. Pingback: Did You Think We Were Done With This? Yeah, Us Too « And Puppy Makes Four

Leave a Reply

