“Are You Okay, Mommy?” Says the Puppy

Remember back in July when we decided to let Scout sleep outside her crate at night? That experiment has been going really well. Scout knows right when it’s bedtime (when we get in bed) and curls up on her bed, too. Or, you know, under the bed, whatever the moment’s preference may be.

It’s actually been pretty neat how easily Scout has picked up on this scenario. It’s almost as if we sat her down and explained, “So, Scout, around 10 p.m. every night–or earlier if Mommy can manage it–I’m going to get into the big bed, and that’s your signal to get into your bed. Sound good? Go team!” If Scout could only speak English…

But there has been one, tiny nagging thing. I’m not sure what to call it. You see, every night, without fail, Scout wakes up around 2 a.m., and nudges me with her nose. She used to nudge me a lot. Nudge, nudge, nudge, nudge. I’d wake up and pet her for a minute or so, and then tell her to go back to bed. Like a good girl, she would. But the next night, promptly around 2, she would do it again. And again.

It’s December, folks. This means I’ve been woken up at 2 a.m. for the last five months. The only change has been that now Scout only nudges me once, waits for a second, and then goes right back to bed, even without me opening my eyes (though I always wake up).

So the other night I mentioned this to B. He was surprised. He had no idea this has been going on. Apparently, Scout is not nudging Daddy before walking around and nudging Mommy. Or if she is, Daddy is sleeping straight through it.

So B and I discussed what this could possibly mean. She obviously doesn’t need to go to the bathroom, since she doesn’t continue to nudge me like she would if it was a bathroom emergency. She doesn’t want loving, because she goes right back to bed once I’m awake. B threw out an idea: She’s checking on me. It’s late, Scout’s awake*, and she wants to make sure I’m okay. Now tell me, how sweet is that?

*Why is Scout awake at 2 a.m.? Possibly because Zoey is up romping around the house, and Scout, like any good pet-sister, wants to know what all the fun is about!

One response to ““Are You Okay, Mommy?” Says the Puppy

  1. jaxart4animals December 14, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Aww that’s so sweet for her to check on you. Strange that it’s always at 2am.

Leave a Reply

