Let Them Get Coal

Apparently, just because it’s the week of Christmas doesn’t mean that Scout and Zoey are concerned that they’ll be switched to Santa’s naughty list. Both girls have been naughty this week.

For Zoey’s part, she pooped on the floor. I know, yuck. We can’t explain it either. We have absolutely no idea why she would do such a thing. Some Google research is in order, I believe…Of course, Zoey has been a Scrooge all week. Just look at her face when we were decorating the tree:

Ba Humbug.

Doesn’t she look mad?

As for Scout, she’s been on a tissue-shredding rampage all week. In fact, just this morning while I was in the office, she came in with this guilty look on her face, munching on something. I asked her to drop it, and she spit out the tiniest fleck of bathroom issue. I knew there had to be more somewhere, so I asked her, “Where did you get this?” The reply? Her face fell. She knew what she’d done.

I walked into the bedroom, and found a trail of tissue crumbs leading to the bathroom. When I called for Scout, she wouldn’t come at first. She peaked her head around the corner just far enough to make eye contact (seriously, I almost laughed, which would have completely broken the Mother Is Disappointed thing I had going on), and stared at me.

“Scout, where did this come from?”

Head hangs low in shame.

“Come here.”

She walks very, very slowly into the room, and then threw me for a complete loop. She put herself in her crate. She sat down inside it and stared out at me with this expression that said, “I know I’ve been bad, but you love me, right? See, I even put myself in my crate, Mommy. I’m a good dog!”

Well, if this didn’t make me completely melt and lose the Mom Disciplinarian thing. I immediately grabbed for my phone to take a picture, but by that time she’d left the crate and was giving me the “love me” look right in front of me.

“Were you a bad dog?”

I swear if she could have spoken, she would have said, “The cat told me to do it!”

This is what I found in the bathroom:

All in a day’s work for a puppy. I mean, who can resist shredding some toilet tissue every once and a while?

And good thing for the girls, but Santa has already brought their gifts. They’re getting them tonight, since we’ll be traveling for Christmas. So I guess the moral is that even if you shred tissues and give your parents sulky looks that lead to pooping on the carpet right in front of your litter box, you still get Christmas gifts in the L household. Are we killer parents or what? ;)

4 responses to “Let Them Get Coal

  1. ForPetsSake December 22, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    That face is soooo cute!!

  2. Cathy December 23, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Awwww, [guilty] adorable puppy face. Smooches to Scout and Zoey!!! Merry Christmas to you all!!

  3. Just Ramblin' Pier December 23, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Such a sweet pup and adorable cat too. Looks like you have a great little family. : )

  4. Pingback: The Girls Get a Christmas After All « And Puppy Makes Four

Leave a Reply

