Books About Dogs

When I was younger, I was a voracious reader. I read just about anything I could get my hands on. After college, I took a job as a copy editor, and my reading slowed. My eyes are simply too tired at night to dive into hours of reading by my bedside table.

scout sleep

sleeeeppppyyyyyy...........

But I have managed a few books that I thought I’d share with you on our mutually appreciated topic: dogs.

Let’s start with fiction

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
Though Art of Racing is not new, I still find people who have not heard of it. B and I both really enjoyed it and recommend it all the time. What makes it unique is the narrator: The story is told from the perspective of the family dog. Not only is he hilarious, but his insights into people and his family come from neat sources (such as Law & Order!), and make for an entertaining, touching read. This is why we call tissues and cotton balls Scout’s zebras. Don’t get it? Read the book! :)

A little bit of science

Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know by Alexandra Horowitz
This book might be known to you too, considering it was a New York Times bestseller, but here again I thought I’d suggest it. I’ve been taking my time with this one, reading it slowly little by little before bed. Ms. Horowitz is a great writer, academic without being stuffy. Her writing takes what could be an otherwise boring academic account of what makes dogs tick and instead turns it into a fascinating account of the animals we love from a biological and psychological point of view. A dog lover and owner herself, her writing has a personal tone, a touch of humor and wit, and a lovely lyrical quality. I’ve learned so much, and highly recommend it.

And some training

How Raise the Perfect Dog Through Puppyhood and Beyond by Cesar Milan
This book was the Bible for B and I before we adopted Scout. I scoured its pages, bookmarking sections to reference again once it became closer time to bring Scout home (i.e.: “How to introduce your puppy to her crate for the first time.” Check!). If ever you’re looking for a step-by-step guide, as we were, this would be my suggestion. “Do this, don’t do this,” was what B and I were looking for. A puppy manual, basically! We felt lost, and though Cesar didn’t do the work for us, he helped guide in the right direction. After that, we made it work for us, as all parents have to do. But I like to think that he prepared us for puppy parenthood and helped us to raise Scout into the great dog that she is today. There are lots of guides out there, and various schools of thought too, so spend some time researching each of them and pick the one that you’re comfortable with. Cesar worked for us, so I hope he works for you too.

Any dog books you guys love? I’d be curious to hear about them!

One response to “Books About Dogs

  1. Cathy May 1, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    I loved “The Art of Racing in the Rain” book!!

Leave a Reply

